Blog

Art Saves Lives International – Artist of the month, July 2016

13532970_872128852919330_4770346844515792704_n

Art Saves Lives International is a non-profit charitable organisation that Charlotte Farhan co-founded with Sadie Kaye, and

together they came up with the mission and aim of ASLI and with the intention to show the world that art in which ever form it takes can be used as a tool to better ourselves, heal ourselves and help the world communicate better’ 

Charlotte Farhan is an artist, illustrator, writer and President of the charity,  ASLI. She is an active campaigner and activist for many issues. I emailed her and asked if I could do something for the charity, and she responded with a lovely message, saying I could be the featured artist in the magazine for July 2016.

The website is here , so you can take a look:

https://artsaveslivesinternational.com/

An excerpt from the website that sings to me :

Art in all its forms is a passion for creation which is uniquely expressed and shared.Being an artist is thought to be by many as easy in application but an undesirable choice for a “career”.Even though art is widely appreciated it is also taken for granted in everyday life or not even recognised.We at ASLI understand this and want to make a change.

If you would like to be featured in the magazine, click here:

 https://artsaveslivesinternational.com/#post-2444

 So I am now working on the interview questions, some of which are included here in this blog:

Questions:

Why do I do what I do?

Because I love it.

Many reasons. I love what I do. I have been drawing for a long time. Drawing and painting is what I do to make sense of my world. I paint when I am happy, sad, irritable, tired, moody, grumpy, joyful, ecstatic, relaxed, tense. I paint whatever the weather. I paint to bring life to colour, vibrancy, joy, and love to the world, to disect what I see in the natural world, and make (what I hope are) beautiful images. I am obsessed with images, I take photos of my work, and then add filters and change things up, then make prints.  I pour my heart and soul into my work, and my emotions shine through. Art is a form of therapy and meditation for me. I can release the real me onto paper. I make up what I paint, I use colour and shape and have phases of using the same shapes over and over, until I come up with a new, more pleasing one.

Do I hope to create change with my work? 

Yes

I hope to bring forth love and a sense of calm with my work. I want people put my work on their walls and be transported elsewhere for a while, to daydream and enjoy that precious time. I want to continue with my art practice, to thrive and continue to sell internationally, and reach more people. I want to show my children (all 3 of them) that it is possible to have a passion and do well financially- to be happy in my work and happy that I am majorly contributing to them and their futures. I want to show the two can go together. I believe that passion and continued action are good buddies. So, the change is that I want to dispel the myth of the starving artist, to thriving artist. 

Which artists am I inspired by?

Gustav Klimt has been an inspiration, with the beautiful use of colour and pattern. I love the sensuality of Georgia O’Keefe’s work. I also love Turner with the moodiness of his works. I have started painting landscapes ( made up ones) and enjoy painting skies. I also love Monet, the colours and textures. My work is impressionistic in style.

water-lilies-1917-4

Monet , Water lily

I am excited to be part of the ASLI magazine next month.

This is my first interview, so I am a little trepidacious, and excited at the same time.

Leave a Reply

