Blog

Art and Children

16835982_10154906964810928_1766301972801715440_o

Below is a beautiful article from a lovely lady named Sue about my visit to a Childrens’ centre, and forest School yesterday.

I met Sue at a campsite last year. We hit it off straight away, exchanging thoughts and ideas. I had the pleasure of seeing her in her element, at work yesterday. Sue is a very passionate person, and I feel that is why we hit it off ! I loved being with the children, watching them create and enjoy using the materials- especially the salt. They loved the salt. I have found this to be the case with other children. We used paint and water and flooded the page with watery paint, salt and lemon juice to see its affects. The children had made their own charcoal the day before , so they were using this to make marks. We used pva and foil and cotton wool ,double sided tape and brown tape. I had a theme, but that went out the window, and I just went with the flow. I don’t force an outcome. I think parents and teachers alike sometimes want to see a finished piece. But often art is about the process. I went through a process of copying imagery when younger, to get good at observing lines , shade, colour. It was a process and not every picture looked good or finished or done. I have always been this way as a tutor. I don’t force an outcome. Don’t get me wrong. I have a plan , and some sessions are very specific, but other times we deviate from the plan . That is my forte, I am flexible and a good deviator. Although people like to see something finished, they may need to realise that within a given time frame there is only so much you can do. Don;t force it, let it come, let the creativity well and rise within you, and see what happens. You may be pleasantly surprised.

Full article on tumblr below, written by Sue Evans, of heyforestgirl.

Leave a Reply

